Suzuki Successfully Completes Round 4 of Gixxer Cup; Next Stop BIC!

The Suzuki Gixxer Cup saw a brilliant finish of the fourth round. Approved by FMSCI and organised by MMSC, the fourth round held at the Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai also saw the introduction of new upgrades to improvise on performance, decelerating and handling. The turn out too was a healthy 200 fans, Gixxer customers and loyalists.

An interesting lucky draw was also organised for Gixxer customers thanks to which one lucky winner got a free Special Edition Suzuki Gixxer helmet! This helmet will soon be available for purchase at Suzuki dealerships from the second half of September for Rs 2,199. (More details on the helmet)


The day was as usual divided into 4 races with two rounds each in the Open and Novice category. The six lap first open race saw a nail biting finish with Ananth Raj taking the victory over Abhishek V with a tiny gap of just 0.09 second! Ananth also leads Abhishek on the championship standing so far while the third place is still up for grabs with three riders at just five points from each other.


The novice category too got its fair share of suspense with the winner of the first race Amarnath Menon grabbing the first slot with a gap of just 0.068 second. Here are the full race results:

  • Open Race 1- 1st: Ananth Raj
    2nd: Abhishek V
    3rd: Sathish Kumar
    Best Lap: Vivian Gladwin David- 2:12.131 (101.2 kmph)


  • Open Race 2 – 1st: Ananth Raj
    2nd: Sathish Kumar
    3rd: Vivian Gladwin David
    Best Lap: Meka Vidhuraj- 2:11.523 (101.7 kmph)


  • Novice Race 1 – 1st: Amarnath Menon
    2nd: Vishwadev Muraleedharan
    3rd: Malsawndawngliana
    Best Lap: Vishwadev Muraleedharan- 1:15.534 (100.1 kmph)
  • Novice Race 2 – 1st: Vishwadev Muraleedharan
    2nd: Amarnath Menon
    3rd: Ajeesh A
    Best Lap: Vishwadev Muraleedharan- 1:16.941 (98.3 kmph)

The next and the last round of the Gixxer Cup will be held at the Buddh International Circuit three weeks from now in the presence of the 1993 500cc Grand Prix World Champion Kevin Schwantz.