Suzuki Gixxer Cup Season 2 Commences with Round 1 at Kari

The Suzuki Gixxer cup is back in its second season to provide Indian motorsports enthusiasts with their dose of excitement. It is a part of several One Make Series supporting the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championships. These One Make Races are organised in association with different manufacturers. Round One of the year was held at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore.

The Open Class, where in riders above 23 years of age compete, was won by B Rajnikanth. He had an intense battle with last year’s front runner Meka Viduraj. Sadly though Viduraj crashed out. There were 24 entries to the Open Class this year with many in the waiting list. Here are the timings for the top three riders of the Open Class over the course of 10 laps:

Suzuki Gixxer Cup - Round 1

  • 1st: B Rajnikanth 15:17:444
  • 2nd: Vivek Mani 15:29:148
  • 3rd: Prabhu V 15:30:765
  • Best Lap: 1:21:224 (93.1 kmph)

The second race for the Open Class was sadly cancelled.

Suzuki Gixxer Cup Round 1

The Novice Class on the other hand included riders under 23 years of age. The fight for the first position continued till the last lap in the second race, giving the crowd a gala time. Suzuki had received 39 entries for the Novice class but only 20 were selected for Race 1 while the final race saw 23 riders. Timings for the two races are as follows:

Gixxer Cup - Round 1

Novice Class Race 1:

  • 1st: Aaron Gunawardena 9:03:050
  • 2nd: Joseph P Mathew 9:08:852
  • 3rd: Amarnath Rajan 9:17:098
  • Best Lap: Aaron Gunawarden 1:21:161 (93.1 kmph)

Novice Class Race 2:

  • 1st: Aaron Gunawardena 9:15:735
  • 2nd: Joseph P Mathew 9:16:580
  • 3rd: Amarnath Rajan 9:20:722
  • Best Lap: Joseph P Mathew 1:20:645 (93.7 kmph)

Suzuki has also collaborated with Red Bull for the Rookies Cup, helping youngsters in the age group of 13 to 17 years realise their dreams of being a motorcycle racers.

Suzuki Gixxer Cup Contestants

Read more: Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup here

The race day was made even more special with over 200 Gixxer owners cheering the riders. The second round of Gixxer Cup Season 2 will take place at MMSC in Chennai on the weekend of July 8 to July 10, 2016 time period.