TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge 5500kms Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare

by Kannan on April 16, 2013

Have a good day to the all bikers and this site lovers, firstly I really thankful & congratulation to bikeadvice.in for its wonderful effort in bringing in so much reviews of bike at one place, which helps buyers to make their buying decision.

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (4)

I really salute the Bike advice team and especially thanks to the Deepak for his incomparable contribution. This article is not really a review of the bike but it also my experience with the Apache RTR. I am Nitin Waghmare, 31, from Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh.

I am Scientific Professional from a reputed Research Centre. I would like to share my experience with my dream bike with you. Well, the story is like this way. I shifted to the Visakhapatnam from Mumbai for my job in October 2009.

As this city is totally different to me in all aspects like food, language and most missing thing is the fast life of Mumbai. Since from that day I had been faced various difficulties. For every small thing I have to travel far as my residential area is not that much developed. Every time I think about the need of everyone’s life is vehicle and I personally feel that the bike is a symbol of standard for everyone especially youngsters.

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (1)

In past I had not bike in my life. And also I was also not that much passionate about the bike. But there was a hidden wish inside my mind that whenever I will buy a bike, It would be a descent one. Since I came to Vizag, I feel need of it. Also the roads of Vizag are too good as compared with roads in my past areas.

I saw the crazy bikers driving furiously on these roads including on NH-5. And this was the spark to hidden ambition inside me burst out about my Dream Bike. And I started the search in the entire Vizag to purchase a good kind of bike which fulfill my requirements.

My requirements were the bike should be attractive and which grabs the attention of people around me and most important that it should suit me as I am 165 cm tall with average body. I discussed lot about it with my friends and got number of suggestions and gone through the various websites of different bike companies.

In 2010 I came to know about the BikeAdvice.in and I subscribed to it. I daily used to read the reviews of various bikes and this became my habit to read more and more about the bikes. I was having a number of options for choosing bikes like Honda CB Unicorn, Karzma R, CBZ Extreme, Hero Honda Hunk, Pulsar 150, FZ-16, SZ-R and obviously Aapche RTR 160.

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (6)

But after number of conclusions regarding price tag, maintenance cost, milage, style, handling etc I finally convinced to purchase “TVS Apache 160 Hyper-Edge”. And the Day rose i.e. 23 March 2012 on which I handed over with the keys of my first bike.

Before this I want to give my opinions of the bikes I opted for are as follows,

Honda CB Unicorn

I first booked Honda Unicorn in Silver colour. But the waiting period was too lengthy (about 6 months) that I couldn’t wait anymore.

Hero Honda Karizma R

A very good bike, Good value for every single paisa you pay but empty your wallet in the aspect of petrol cost as the mileage is low but style and quality lovers never matters this thing. In my aspect it was out of my budget so I moved on aside.

Hero Honda CBZ Extreme and Hunk

Sporty Bikes those had all important stuff in it. But the height of CBZ Extreme and weight of Hero Honda Hunk was the key factors which allow me to not select them.

Yamaha FZ -16

This is comfortable to the riders but not for the pillions who are not being comfortable while going for long tours. Handling and grip of tyres on road are awesome.

Bajaj Pulsar 150cc

My one of the choice was Bajaj Pulsur 150 but found that it is very common bike (In Vizag there are three Pulsars in every ten bikes and this is my observation) and just because of its poor engine life, I moved ahead.

TVS Apache RTR 160 Hyper Edge

Initially there were some issues for the selection of bike. My family don’t like sports bike, because it is not comfortable for back sitters. But I needed sporty and stylish bike. And my budget was around 80k. So it’s difficult to choose the bike, which satisfy my family and also my expectations.

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (2)

So I did all the calculation and analysis, and also there was a Bike Advice, which helped me deciding Apache RTR 160 Hyper-edge. Firstly I was insisted for Grey colour but later I went for Black with orange stripes. This Bike made me to fall in love with her. It’s Really cool design and stylish.

TVS Apache is Decent Choice, which gives great combination of Sporty look and Classy look. TVS peoples are well aware with the customer expectations and the result is that Apache bike had won the Bike of the Year award in 2010. Everything is clear from it.

And the most important that it is Indian made bike which is giving tough competition to the other imported brands. It made me proud to be an Indian.

Handling

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (7)

Handling is probably one of the strongest aspects of Apache RTR 160 Hyper Edge. Among the other bikes in the market the RTR stands out in the handling department. The bike gushes in any gap you want flawlessly. This bike is born for cornering. Its aerodynamic tank scoops and chassis provide better control and makes you feel comfortable.

Engine and Performance

15.2 bhp @ 8500 rpm of power was more than enough for our present road conditions. TVS claims a top speed of 120km/h. A weight of bike is 137 kgs and it is great pleasure to ride this bike around and in the city.

Braking

The disc brakes on the Apache RTR 160 (petal discs) are the best in its class giving more superior stopping power and shorter stopping distance than any other bike. But some rear issue about tyre, The tyres are a bit slippery not only on wet roads but also on slightly muddy surface too.

Instrumentation and Electricals

The Digital speedometer on the Apache is one of the best ones speedometers available in the Indian market. A lot of functionality is inbuilt such as,

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (3)

  • Digital Speedometer
  • Digital Fuel Gauge
  • Digital Clock
  • High Beam Indicator lamp
  • Neutral Indicator LampTurn
  • Signal Indicator Lamp
  • Mode and Set Switch button: to change the setting, reset the trip meters, set clock time.
  • Tachometer
  • Fuel Warning indicator Lamp
  • Service reminder indicator lamp
  • Battery Charge Indicator Lamp

Vibrations and Riding Position

It has vibrations that occur at 56-68 kmph before and after that the engine is as smooth as butter, but The vibrations on the bike are negligible for someone who needs power in a bike and ride at high speed.

There are complaints about the riding position of TVS Apache RTR like backache, wrist pain etc but that happens only in that start but after you get adjusted to proper position which gives you comfort. Then, it feels like you are on a rocket.

Maintenance and Servicing

Now this was the only reason why I was worried before buying a Apache. A lot of people have been raised the question mark about the service you get for the Apache. But then, I was pleasantly surprised to see the TVS service station which available in almost each city.

I believe it is very important to service your bike at regular intervals. Only then the bike will be able to respond to your needs. There is no point in blame a bike model if you are not servicing it properly.

Looks and Styling

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (8)

This TVS Apache RTR 160 Hyper-Edge has a Decent Look. Which mean good combination of sporty looks as well as classy look. Every part of the bike excels in design from the LED tail lamps to the tank.

Mileage

The bike is offering a mileage of 50 to 53 kmpl in the city, with good run and right gear shifts. On the highways it offered 55-60 kmpl. But I don’t care about mileage when I can reach 0-60 under 4.5 secs.

Pros

  • Stylish bike design
  • Comfortable riding position.
  • Great Pick-up
  • Well equipped digital speedometer with having Digital clock
  • High beam spread from headlights

Cons

  • The tyres are a bit slippery not only on wet roads but also on slightly muddy surface too.
  • Difficulty to face to get full turn, in short space.
  • Gear box is notchy.
  • Most important is the vibrations. TVS people should work on this issue.

My Touring Experience

I have done two long tours with my Apache RTR during this one year. First was the trip to Araku Valley in the end of June 2012. It was aroud 350 km long journey. The ghat roads are very adventurous for biking. The feel of nature is awesome. As it was rainy season, the joy of riding got doubled in cold breeze at the top of the hills. It was one of the memorable trip.

In that trip I felt the power of my bike while driving on ascending slope with curvy roads and control with braking in descending slopes. Second was the trip to the Rajahmundry in the end of December 2012. It was a Highway biking (NH-5). The total distance covered was 550 km. The maximum speed I drived was 94 km/hr.

Those were the winter days and also this was also the wonderful experience. In that trip we also visited Peethapuram, and Annavaram. I am very much passionate about my bike. I usually kept it clean to keep free from dirt and stains. I am cautious about the engine oil. Only initially I used the Service Station Provided engine oil.

TVS Apache 160 Hyper Edge Ownership Review by Nitin Waghmare bikeadvice in (5)

From second servicing I used Shell Advance AX7 10W40 oil. It was semi synthetic oil. The experience of gear change smoothness and vibrations find reduced. I kept this oil for about 2700 km running. Now I have changed to Shell Advance Ultra 10W40, a fully synthetic oil, as the summer is on the verge and I am well aware with the Vizag temperature.

In these 11 months I have travelled about 5500 kms. And I am totally satisfied with my bike performance. It is my habit that I never kept fuel tank below the reserve mark. More important is that whatever you take care of your machine in return you also got the same in the form of reliability.

Verdict

Finally I can say that, I am in Love with this Bike, because of its decent look, great pick-up and give comfort to rider. Just take good care of it, and it gives it all back to you. Enjoy every bit of it. Also an excellent bike for highway Racing. Apache RTR 160 Hyper-Edge, It’s really “Right To Ride”. Please feel free to leave your comments.

Regards,
Nitin D. Waghmare
Visakhapatnam

Remain Updated! Get these articles delivered right into your mailbox.
Subscribe for FREE!

Like & Comment Via Facebook...

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

Vishnu Rajan April 16, 2013 at 9:16 am

Dude, your bike looks awkward with that carrier bag. It does not match a sports bike :P Also, the review was nice, moreover understandable to a layman. But are you sure, you have reached 0-60 sprint in 4.5 seconds? I own a karizma ZMR, and I have reached 0-60 in 3.7, by using a gps application on my google nexus. Tried the same in my friend’s RTR 160 and found that, how ever I screwed the bike, it could reach 60 in just above 4.8 seconds. But the RTR meter always showed 4.6. All RTRs are having speedo errors which are responsible for the speed increase. You check with some GPS app plz

Reply

vimal April 16, 2013 at 9:17 am

nice review…usually people ll become design/analysis engineers while writing review wherein more techinical aspects like RPM/BHP etc etc ll b mentioned which makes ur head roll d finally at the end of review u ll literally fall on d floor soaked in technical details.here u mentioned ur experience d enjoyment more than other tech aspects d that s were a real charm arise while reading/writing a review.thank u..keep it up d safe driving bro.

Reply

Victor March 24, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Very Nice Review, I read it today. I have TVS Apache RTR 160 Model 2013. She Gives me 40 KMPL in city ride and 49 KMPL in Highway NH-2. Ok I Know very well about drawbacks of TVS Apache (Those who have knows very well). Comfort Ride, Engine Vibs and Gearbox are a big issue on this bike. Ok left all this! TVS Tyre are horrible (in Apache) and I skit 3 times in city ride at 55 KMPHR and injured my foot pegs. TVS needs to provide driving dress kit for rider and Helmet to all apache users.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: