Ownership Review: Madhur Reviews his R15 V2.0 After Pulsar 220

by Kannan on May 3, 2013

Hello Everybody, my name is Madhur Choudhary and I am pursuing mechanical engineering from a private college in Dehradun. My love for automobiles is, may be, by birth, which increased strongly day by day and brought me to a level that not only my girlfriend but my parents also think that, “I will choose bike over them“!

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (1)

Well, leaving this personal matter, I should brief you about reviewing my Yamaha R15 V.20 which I own now. The bike was bought on 19 june october 2011 and is the red-black combo colour.

I have already reviewed my Pulsar 220 last year and this is my second review on BikeAdvice. Here is the link for my last review.

P220 Ownership Review by Madhur

Looks and Appeal

Now coming back to Yamaha R15, This bike surely have killer looks, I haven’t met even one person who says it looks ugly. Some might find it sexier from the front, some from sideways and some take it from back.

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (3)

 Infact telling truth about my decision for going this bike is its looks only, when I saw it first time on road, I just fell for it. Especially its R6 borrowed looks makes it a show stopper. Though this look sometime become pain for the pillion. There is no support for pillion rider, the seat is really hard. The bike is totally made for rider only and hence its tagline ‘Arrive Alone!‘.

Performance

It is powered by a 149.8 cc, single-cylinder, liquid-cooled, 4-stroke engine has a maximum power of 17 PS at 8500 rpm and a maximum torque of 15 Nm at 7500 rpm, figures are enough for a 150cc engine. When I bought this bike, I was really afraid that did I made a correct decision because I always had a perception that according to my height (5’11″) it is a small vehicle.

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (2)

And its position makes my back a hell. But in about 500 kms, I just got addicted to it, and slowly it turned to be one of the best decisions ever made. The bike is now 20,000 kms old, and I am proud of owning it.

Performance

Talking about performance, I touched 138 kmph several times. Other R15 friends say it touches 143-145 but I haven’t been able to do that. Really, don’t know the reason, and I don’t care even. The bike gives a mileage of 35-40 kmpl which is quite qood compared to my P220′s 30 kmpl according to its current condition.

The Bike has just 12 litres of tank and that makes me to avoid R15 for long touring in mountains. Also the reserve/ON switch option must be provided for riders (students at least) which drive most of the time with low fuel.

Gearbox

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (5)

The R15 V2.0 comes with a 6-speed gearbox with the universal 1-down 5-up pattern. I bring the six gear topic because of my incident happened with it. In starting periods, I have a habit of P220′s 5-speed gearbox, and when I rode R15 over high speed, I forget to switch to 6th gear, but eventually with time I realize how useful the 6th gear is during long cruising especially. The gear-ratios are well spaced out and the shifts are seamless though, at times, false neutrals were engaged accidentally.

Ride, Handling and Braking

Handling is unmatchable purely, I can lean down and ride it with one hand and it will not even slip. Ride quality is impressive but due to the reason that I had installed K&N filter in it, it got rougher now and I like it in that way more. The suspension is good but still it could be better according to indian roads.

Braking is impressive, it does not slip much like P220 does but when applying brake really hard, it just rotates by 180 degree. An option based ABS version of it will be an added value to it and can make wonders to braking of the bike. Let me tell you one incident happened to me, which make me a fan of Yamaha’s technology.

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (6)

Last year in September, I was going from Dehradun to Muzaffarnagar via Bijnor, and while cruising at 110-120 km/hr, there was a very huge pothole which I hadn’t noticed. And when I rode over it at about that speed, the bike got disbalanced and I thought that I will fall down but, fortunately that did not. I know that if I was in P220 I would have definetly tasted the tarcoal. Hats off to the delta box frame.

Night Riding

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (7)

I was always in love with P220′s projector headlamps and was expecting good result from R15 too. R15 lights are brilliant during nights but till only there are no oncoming traffic. R15 lights fall all over the road but still it could be made better.

Summary

The Bike truly gives you feeling of super/sports bike with its satisfactory performance; it has eye candy looks, marvelous handling and composed ride quality & stability. But its not a VFM product like the P220, it is definitely a costlier product according to its capacity, little bit small in dimension (for me), and excessive heat produced by the engine when serviced late by just few kms/day than its periodic time table.

Yamaha R15 V2.0 Ownership Review By Madhur Choudhary bikeadvice in (4)

At last, if you are a fan of Yamaha and R15′s looks, and have good pocket, then surely R15 deserves to in your garage. Thank you for reading it. Appreciate your comments and suggestions. And always wear Helmet.

Regards,
Madhur Choudhary

Remain Updated! Get these articles delivered right into your mailbox.
Subscribe for FREE!

Like & Comment Via Facebook...

{ 19 comments… read them below or add one }

Reeto May 3, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Hi Madhur. The P220 delivers a healthy 40 kmpl and above on highways. I have gone into a pothole a few times accidentally on the P220, never had a fall. Your review clearly shows what a sucker you are for the R15, which isn’t bad at all; just that learn to write reviews without being biased about your ownership sentiments. The R15 has a fuel injection system that makes it mandatory for a minimum 1-1.5 lite in the tank atleast at all times. If the tank runs dry, then be ready to shell out a big amount to replace your fuel pump. This aspect of risk isn’t there on a P220 coz its a carburetted bike, so no fuel pump. FI bikes don’t and can’t have a Petrol Cork/Lock coz fuel doesn’t flow through gravity from the tank as is the case in carburetted bikes. Get to know your bike’s technicalities thoroughly first before penning down a review.

Reply

star May 3, 2013 at 10:27 pm

I am impressed….you are Spot on ….with your comments….
Hope writer will take it positive way…
Look like you have gain the good expertise in Automotive

Reply

VIGHNESH May 4, 2013 at 2:53 pm

REETO,
I completely agree
PULSAR 220-F variant, the carburreted one gives 45kmpl at the average. My cousin brother owns one and he gets something around 40-45 everytime

The reviewer madhur said that ‘My pulsar’ that his pulsar gives 30kmpl
That shows the kind of riding style…

Telling anything about a bike you dont like is not a good thing
people here reads every reviews before purchase,so i, VIGHNESH dont like to add false details on a review!!

We will accept the fact if supplied with proof (fuelly.com) logs etc….

Reply

Rakesh May 4, 2013 at 7:30 pm

@vighnesh
dude.. he has also mentioned a word which i think u have missed.. ‘ The bike gives a mileage of 35-40 kmpl which is quite qood compared to my P220′s 30 kmpl according to its CURRENT condition.’

If you check out the review of Pulsar 220 which he wrote last year, his bike returned a mileage between 28 to 38 kmpl, when his odo read between 10,000 to 20,000 kms. (keeping in mind that he often pushed his bike to its limits).
But now, after crossing 40,000 kms (which denotes his bike’s current condition, he gets an average of 30kmpl). :-)

Rakesh May 4, 2013 at 7:33 pm

dude.. he has also mentioned a word which i think u have missed.. ‘ The bike gives a mileage of 35-40 kmpl which is quite qood compared to my P220′s 30 kmpl according to its CURRENT condition.’

If you check out the review of Pulsar 220 which he wrote last year, his bike returned a mileage between 28 to 38 kmpl, when his odo read between 10,000 to 20,000 kms. (keeping in mind that he often pushed his bike to its limits).
But now, after crossing 40,000 kms (which denotes his bike’s current condition, he gets an average of 30kmpl). :-)

prerit May 3, 2013 at 5:28 pm

“In this period, I kept it very silent, never gone over 60kmph, ride alone, and don’t give it to my friends even. First free service and change of oil recommended in this have been successful. The bike remain quite smooth, gearshift and handling is really impressive, and no problem is been observed. The mileage is marvelous and around [38-40 kmpl]. The only thing is noticed is Turning radius, which is really large, but you will learn how to decrease that.”
dude what are u trying to say about avg of your 220 its better then r15 when compared to r15 given its more displacement then r15, is a good machine but seriously i like my 220 more its got that power punch in it and then r15 has to be rev hard above (4k rpm) for true power also the bike struggles on rajpur road as compared to 220 may be coz of its 150cc motor (rajpur road is a straight 8kms road with continuous elevation)..

Reply

Madhur May 7, 2013 at 1:32 am

bikes are incomparable, though power punch and feel of p220 is much more exciting than of r15.
Rajpur road is straight but seriously crowded now a days, so i dont ride hard there though i agree with your point of rev r15 hard above 4k rpm, it just sometime makes you feel under powered also.

Reply

Bhushan May 3, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I have been race with 220 with my R15 every time i found myself in front of p220 and cbr150r i dint know how but it does. and for 140+ kph it depends on your aerodynamic how your seating on bike and wind must be with you.
ride safe still roads are fill with idiots and potholes.

Reply

Sriram_aviator May 4, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Hey madhur! i think u don’t like P220 that’s y u r giving wrong details, i drove my bike 500 km ( puducherry – tuticorin ) in 7 hours with 42 kmpl mileage. i stopped only at 3 places to take a photo of sceneries. R15 is good bike but dont tell its best than P220. when i check the top speed of my bike at first time, it reached 143kmph. By seeing the speedo i missed a second to see the pothhole and gone through it. Nothing was happened. I use to make a roll till my main stand touches the road. Hence, “Make of the bike doesn’t matters but the driver is”.

Reply

Madhur May 7, 2013 at 1:37 am

hey sriram, when did i say i hate my p220, and there was no false details, those are my specs, everyone has there own. i revealed in article, you had in this comment

Reply

faisal May 5, 2013 at 12:24 am

Upgrading to R15 from Pulsar does show what a terrific bike the R15 is, superbly calibrated handle bars with good steering inputs and that grip levels.

Reply

Akash May 5, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Mathur bro… You should have upgraded to CBR250R naa….. That’s just 40 more thousands than R15 for non ABS version…

Reply

Madhur May 7, 2013 at 1:39 am

Bro its madhur
and i never liked cbr thats why never opted for it too, its not because of its specs or its look, i just really dont like it.

Reply

Akash May 5, 2013 at 5:54 pm

AND YES, PULSAR 220 IS BEST BIKE… OKAY . . .
ITS QUICK, FAST AND AFFORDABLE TOO…. SO HAPPY RIDING. DON’T FIGHT…..

Reply

Madhur May 7, 2013 at 1:43 am

thank you akash.
first sensible comment here,
dont know why fighting when you can ride.
and the best bike is that which you feel is the best for you, not what other people voted for.

Reply

am.khan August 10, 2013 at 1:32 pm

pulsar 220 is an awsum machine.. i rode it for 160 km… AND THE PROJECTOR LAMPS DO AN EXCELLENT JOB..
complete value for money..
STILL PULSARS ARE NOT AS RELIABLE AS HONDA OR YAMAHA..

Reply

Manoj September 30, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Madhur bro,
I really need your help for yamha r15 v2.0
I want to buy this but i am afraid of its millage one of my friend says it gave only 25kmpl is it right bro. or what about fazer any suggestion
my mail: mworld4m@gmail.com

Reply

Anil December 16, 2013 at 8:13 pm

cool review bro..I like your review and ur bike ..but you will never beat my Apache..Coz I am sorry to say that my Unreliable poor branded cheap Apache will kills ur bike in drag race…..mileage…..and cubic capacity

Reply

Doss David December 24, 2013 at 12:45 am

Hi Madhur,
I read your review , even i love the style and look of the R15 V2.0 but i have a second thought of go for the 200 ns pulsar its like muscled up pulsar 135 but after reading many positive review on 200 ns my mind got confused with my budget i have three bikes in my mind – Duke 200 is costlier R15 V2.0 I drive long often and should not cause any back pain prob in city traffic. last the 200 ns value for money good comfortable raiding position but naked look street bike when it runs on road most of them might mistake it as 135p . now tell me which bike i should go for?

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: