Ownership Review Hero CBZ Xtreme: How a Heartbroken Biker Finally Chose Xtreme

by Kannan on May 12, 2013

Hi I am Gowtham, doing my 2nd year Mechanical engineering, I am a regular follower of Bikeadvice and this is my first review on my favorite friendly forum, so please forgive me if there is any mistake in my review. Now let me get going with my story.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (4)

My craze on bikes started at the age 10 at 4th standard, I used to get on my dad’s bike (Bajaj 4s champion) and change gears and bend on it like a Moto GP racer the bike which impressed me at that age was the Karizma which was launched that time. It looked like a race bike for me, I saw it for first time near my school It was a black Karizma.

After few days on a Saturday morning while I was doing cycling a black bike crossed me like Zoom and stoped near my house, I was amazed to see that our neighbor Anna (Brother in Tamil) had bought a Karizma and I was happy that a Karizma is near me.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (13)

The very next week another guy in our street also bought a Karizma now we had 2 Karizma’s in our street, I used to say to my friends in school that we have 2 Karizma in our street with gr8 pride. They both used to wipe their bikes in the morning at 7:30 for that I used to get ready to school early and go to bus stop which was near their house.

They used to roam around the streets on their bikes and they looked like heros at that time to me so I thought I will buy a Karizma when I go for college (Karizma which became my dream bike). As days passed the biker inside me started to grow many bikes came to market (Pulsar, Apache, etc) but my mind was fully on Karizma I used to get the pic of Karizma when ever possible.

After my 10th standard I joined my Diploma in Mechanical in the year (2009-2012) then I started to know more about bikes and working of engines, Then I started to see the specifications much more than the looks of the bike, it was the time at end of 2009 a nuclear bomb name the R15 blasted on me.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (1)

I know all of us have an eye on R15, my dream bike Karizma was standing at a long distance from R15 I became a mad fan of R15 so I asked my dad can I get the R15 rather than Karizma he agreed for it and said to me that he will get R15 when I reach my 3 year in Diploma and get my driving licence.

In the mean time one of my friend got the R15 limited edition (red & white) that’s my friends bike in one of the photo which gave me a surprise. I used to ride it often and the feel of riding it made me damn sure of getting only an R15. I was using my dad’s Bajaj 4S champion while doing my diploma before that I was riding TVS 50 during my school days.

My dad’s bike

Then finally I was in the final year final semester of Diploma then asked my dad about R15. He said all right we can buy it even today if you want at that time I was the happiest man in the world.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (11)

We went to the Yamaha showroom and I did not see even a single R15 there the showroom people said that there is gonna be a new model of R15 named the R15 v2.0 and I can get it within a month I said OK thinking that R15 is great then v2.0 will be much better.

I started to browse on net for images of v2.0 the photos of v2.0 were very rare on net. I started dreaming with the photos I got, within a month time the show room people called me and said that the new model is in the showroom and they also added that I can take a test drive and take it if I like it.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (9)

Next day me and my dad went to the showroom and spoke to the showroom people and took one of the bike for test drive (on seeing v2 for the first time I thought why the Hell did Yamaha people change the old model) while riding I felt no difference in control etc.

Then I told my dad to ride it and I sat on the pillion seat and I felt as if I am sitting on my dad’s shoulder and felt there is no support or grip. Every time my dad pushed the brake I leaned over my dad then I thought of my mom’s condition and she could not sit on it and with some personal reasons and great pain and scolding to Yamaha I dropped out R15 off my mind.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (7)

In the mean time I completed my Diploma in mechanical and joined Engineering in mechanical at 2nd year, I came back to my dream bike Karizma, also the new model of Karizma (ZMR) attracted me I went to the Hero Honda showroom and asked them about the onroad price etc. I first sat on the bike and took a photo and I felt that I look too tiny compared to the size of ZMR.

After so many confusions I became a little fedup of bikes and stopped thinking of getting one for me. One day my friend said that he is going to buy a CBZ Xtreme (single disc) in a short time. I was not much interested in it because of the heart breaks I suffered with the R15, Karizma and ZMR.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (12)

Then he bought the CBZ as he said and he brought it to us. I did not feel anything special on seeing it like I had on R15. We all went for a ride on his bike, while my turn of riding came I felt as if its very big and I was surprised that within a sec I got the full control of the bike and felt it has become so small now.

I was feeling more comfortable while riding it; I felt no pain on hands due to turning of the bike even it a 150 kg bike CBZ impressed me a lot the way the digital speedometer turned on, the placing of indicators, clip handlebars etc… now I started to read reviews of CBZ on BikeAdvice, and other websites and finally came to a conclusion that I will go for a CBZ Xtreme.

My friend recommended me to get Double disc since the braking efficiency will be better in double disc and he felt that single disc is not sufficient for sudden breaking and the other reason is double disc is just 2k costly than single disc.

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (3)

I went to the Hero Honda showroom and asked the onroad price of Double disc CBZ and made a token advance then they said that I can select my bike from the new bike garage there were only 3 double disc CBZ. I asked them for test ride they gave me test drive and after so much talking I tested all the 3 bike and selected one from it after 2 days on (16/08/12).

I booked it on my dads name and went to see my black Horse. It was standing alone like a war horse I felt like a Knight when I saw my horse, then while leaving the showroom I saw my horse through a door gap I felt like its saying me to it with me soon.

The very next day (17/08/12) I was very happy that I am going to get my horse today. Went to college in the morning but my mind was full of my horse. Came from college in such a hurry and got ready to go for the showroom to get my black horse for delivery.

When I reached the showroom with my friends, sister and Dad I saw my love Black horse was standing neat and clean, it was shining like a black diamond completed all the formalities and grabbed the keys and ran to my horse.

Then after some poojas I took the bike out with my friends clapping and shouting. And now after 6 months completed 5000 km I thought I am eligible to write a review about my bike (black horse).

Specification

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (16)

We can find the specification of it on the internet so I neglected it.

Digital Speedometer

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (15)

The digital speedometer is the main looks on CBZ with rpm meter on left and speed meter (digital) on right and the fuel gauge on the middle top between the rpm and speed meter & common features like signal, high beam indicators.

Headlights

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (8)

CBZ has a single bulb as eye light which is reflected and seen like double eye light and it looks attractive the high beam and low beam are great and gives more visibility so no need of upgrading the stock bulb its more comfortable even at night riding.

Tank scoop

The tank scoop gives an added muscular look to the horse.

Indicators

There is no need of thinking that the indicator will get damaged while parking the in bike parking and its an added advantage.

Chain Guard

No need to worry about the chain getting exposed to mud and sand which may reduce the chain life in that way we are safe.

Suspension

You can feel the suspension effect when ur riding on bumps etc you will feel just a little jerk.

Brakes

The Braking efficiency is awesome when using both the disc the bike comes to rest from 100-0 km/hr in just 5 sec without skidding. The brakes give more confidence while cornering the curves and more confidence in riding.

Handling

With the clip on handlebars which is wider when compared to the other bikes and Double disc adds awesome control to the horse. Its stable and you will feel the control of the bike always even in slippery roads.

Mileage

“How you behave to your bike the same it behaves to you” if you ride it in a proper way it gives a better mileage (suits for all vehicles).

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (2)

For me it gives a mileage of 42-45 kmpl when my speed is 60-70 km/hr If I maintain the speed between 45-55 km/hr I am dam sure It will give me a solid mileage of 50-52 kmpl on an average of mixed condition for 100 rs (1.41 litter of petrol) it gives me 71 km which is great for 150 cc bike.

Tours

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (6)

I have not gone for much long trips I used to go places within 70km radius but I used to go to my native place, near Kodaikana often which is 125 km from my home with my dad mostly.

Drawback’s of my Horse

  • If there would have been a kick starter it would have been awesome
  • It will not start at a single press of self start in the early morning
  • The doom vibrates between 3500-4000 rpm
  • Gears are little hard
  • The stock horn is worse. I have changed the horn

Conclusion

Hero Honda CBZ Xtreme Ownership Review by Gowtham bikeadvice in (17)

CBZ is a great bike, a person who is less than 5.7 cannot get the control of the horse completely, if you are a guy of height 5.10-6 ft, it is a perfect bike which suits you and you get full control of the horse. The mileage of horse even increases when all the services are complete. You can trust this horse and it will never let you down.

Regards,
Gowtham

Remain Updated! Get these articles delivered right into your mailbox.
Subscribe for FREE!

Like & Comment Via Facebook...

{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

rahul May 12, 2013 at 3:33 pm

hey hi dude..i jst loved your review..its one the best ive ever come across plus the whole story thing like youve said that in 4th std i did this, then that happened then this happened is alll completely superb….

the thing youve mentioned here that it doesnt start in single press for that whne you go for service get c.o. check done on your bike..make sure the guys do it when your engine is warm only..if theyll do it on a cold engine then youll nt get the desiored results ask them to specificly warm the engine by either riding it a little or jst with the acclerator ….and then i think you will be able to start it in one press

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Hi Rahul,
Thank you very much for your comment, Regarding the single press start prob it has been over come now it very nice and comfortable

Reply

Akash May 12, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Superb review man !!!

But why didn’t u tried TVS Apache RTR180 OR BAJAJ Pulsar 220F/200NS OR HONDA CBR150R ???

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:14 pm

ya i had Apache 180 in mind but due to some personal reasons i was in a state to leave it to..
Frankly speaking i was little afraid of P 220 due to its raw power i have driven even more power bikes than 220,but it was more thrilling for me…

Reply

Dinesh May 13, 2013 at 8:56 am

Good review dude. Fantastic bike. between, is that the headlight beams are taken with stock bulb. it seems much brighter for a HH bike 35W. ? is it taken in utter dark..??

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Hi Dinesh,
Thank u for your comment, ya regarding the headlight it was the stock bulb it was taken in a normal traffic zone i mean not in utter dark area its bright enough

Reply

pintu May 13, 2013 at 9:43 am

I also have cbz xtream its the smoothest bike except unicorn. And it gives 42-45 city and 48-50 in long….. Parts are not so strong like other company…. Weight distribution is unscientific….. Sounds great when you run the throtell….

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Hi Pintu,
Thank you for your comment , Ya regarding the weight distribution i don’t think its unevenly distributed because when you hit on brakes it does not give any unbalance feel it gets to zero with out any discomfort.

Reply

Chinnu December 3, 2013 at 9:11 pm

u r right pintu…. its is one the smoothest bike, mine it gives around 45 milage and i have completed 31 k till now i changed only disk pads and chain case.. awesome bike and guys 2014 xtream will be be more rocking in 150 cc segment and all 150 cc bikes needs be upgraded once the bike comes on roads.. new one going to be the best segment in 150 cc

Reply

Arunkumar May 13, 2013 at 11:01 am

Dear Gowtham,
Good is your review. I have the same horse, 2012 dec model, with a kick start lever and rear disc. I would like to advise you on your bike’s drawbacks. As the doom vibrating between 3500-4000 rpm, just take the bike to the service center to have it fixed. Just note that the SC personnel will just try to fix it by just adjusting the screws at the lower portion. But that surely will never work. I had this experience and the SC guys were very reluctant to fix this issue. But I kept on requesting them, hence they fully dismantled the doom, tightened the individual screws within and fixed it back, now there is no vibrating sounds.
Gears should become super smooth after crossing 200kms on the odo. Else, report it to the SC guys, it should be fixed. Because I have a super smooth gear shifting, just like a butter.
Which horn are you using now? I still have the same horn, yes, worse as you said. I am willing to change it.

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Hi ArunKumar,
Thank u for u valuable comment i did the same way u said now there is no prob in doom the gear shift is ok than before regarding the horn i have placed the old model pulsar horn u can see in the pic now there is no prob.

Reply

faisal May 13, 2013 at 11:49 am

No doubt its a good bike but it does not have the same levels of emotional appeal as the old CBZ, the original one, the one which said Super Sprint.

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Hi Faisal,
Hum ya may be every one have their own feel towards the bike after all its the same blood line cbz

Reply

B. Jyothy Muthukumar May 13, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Faisal has just nailed it. The original cbz of the 2000 era,which tugged at heartstrings is dead, this one has nothing to do with the CBZ moniker. What a mess HH has made of this legend! The only bike that resembles close to the original CBZ in some angles, by means of its classy old school unadulterated styling is the present day CB UNICORN, particularly in its silver shade. I was filled with emotion for CBZ when i was in class 11, in 2003, even though i did not know at that time that i wasn’t destined to own one in my life. Somehow by owning the silver unicorn now, i can somehow console myself. THE KING IS DEAD! LONG LIVE HIS LEGACY!

Reply

Gowtham November 30, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Hi Jyothy Muthukumar,
Ya what Faisal and you are saying is may be true but as time changes some thing has to be change the change suited CBZ its better in its position and looks.
I need to say some thing if that Super Sprint was The King then the new cbz is the prince any time cbz will rule

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: